13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2009 12:19 PM by Ed.Macke

Codec Best Practices

Ed.Macke Level 3

So far, I've been using whatever codecs happen to be installed on my box (XP Pro SP3, PRE7, more...).

But a recent thread with Hunt, et. al. got me to wondering: is there a better way, or am I fine with what I have?

Do people have any suggestions for better codecs than the "usual". Free would definitely be good, but I would pay if it made a noticeable difference, not just theoretical.

Background:

• I'm a complete noob when it comes to codecs. I'm not even sure when they are used, how to install/use/control/orgranize, etc.
      • Source video is SD from a Sony Handycam. Firewire + SceneAlyzerLive for capture.
      • During editing, I will File > Export to "Microsoft DV AVI". These .avi files will be pulled into a final, master project.
      • Depending on need, Master project can be:
      • Burned to DVD (Burn to folder, ImgBurn to create DVD)
      • Exported for YouTube
      • Exported for Facebook
      • Exported for iPod
        • 1. Re: Codec Best Practices
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Ed,

The choices of CODEC will most often be dictated on the actual use/need.

For Export, prior to Importing into a "master" Project, for my SD material, I would use DV-AVI Type II w/ 48KHz 16-bit PCM/WAV

For going to DVD-Video, the MainConcept MPEG-2 is a good one. Some like the MPEG-2 from ProCoder, but it's pretty expensive. For DVD-Video, I normally Export from PrPro as elemental streams, i.e. DV-AVI Video-only and AC3 (as I normally work in DD 5.1 SS) Audio-only. I then Import into Encore, my authoring program, and let it use the MainConcept MPEG-2 CODEC to burn to DVD-Video.

If I need to do an intermediate Export, say for work in AfterEffects, I use the Lagarith Lossless CODEC.

I have not done any YouTube, but many feel that FLV, or H.264, are the best CODEC's/types of files. I have done FLV's, for other purposes.