3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2009 5:07 AM by Peter Kahrel

Questions about changeGrep()

Arthur.Dent

Hi everybody,

I would like to figure out a script, which does several GREP searches, stores the spots and his corresponding replace pattern in a list and sorts them in a way straight down from the top of the document. After this is done, the user should have the ability to step along the list and check if the found spot should be replaced or not. If not, the spot should be deleted from the list. Has the user finished his verification, a "go" button, should trigger the changeGrep() method for the whole list.

I'm very new to InDesign scripting, so I have a bunch of questions around this topic. In relation to my problem I described further, it would be very nice, if someone could tell me in detail, how changeGrep() works. Is there an array behind changeGrep which stores the spots? If so, is there any way to manipulate this one?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Questions about changeGrep()
          Peter Kahrel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The first part of your query already exists: http://www.kahrel.plus.com/indesign/chain_queries.html, though I'm not sure I entirely understand what you mean with "stores the spot" and where exactly the corresponding replace pattern comes in. The script's name is "chain_queries.jsx", which is slightly misleading as it can be used for more things than just chaining, but there you go.

Here's a quick guide:

1. Create a GREP query in the Find/Change dialog and save it.

2. Start the script linked above, select your query in the list, make sure you check "Test mode", and press OK.

3. The script finds everything matched by the query, sorts the results, removes duplicates, and writes the results in a new document.