7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 1:02 PM by Jacob Bugge

Help converting to 2 spot colors

Print Dad

Hello All,

I am ashamed to say I am a teacher in a vocational high school that doesn't know much about

computer programs.  I am an old camera/stripper person. I have been teaching 24 years and am well

versed in PageMaker, In=Design and Photoshop.

What I am trying to do is the following.

I am trying to convert a vector image into 2 spot colors.

For example:  I have a wreath and bow    I would like to print the wreath in a

PMS 348 and the bow in 185 Red.

I can of course do this with process colors, but often the job does not warrant

using process so I would like to be able to print using solid PMS colors.

I think that is it in a nutshell.  I have tried to work in Photoshop but have had no luck.

My questions are:

1. - I am using a Vector image from an artbook CD. - Is this good?

2. - Can I convert a picture downloaded from the internet?

3. - How can i learn to do this? - I have looked for online help and the school will not pay

for me to take a course.

Lastly, I understand layers well but have little to no knowledge of Channels

I sure would like to be able to show the students how to do this.  Does anyone know how to do this

or where I can view  tutorial on this matter.

I sure would appreciate any help.   Thanks   Print Dad

• 1. Re: Help converting to 2 spot colors
          philip peterson

You don’t say what version of Illustrator, but regardless if you already have vector art I’d stay away from converting a rasterized image to vector.  There are relatively easy ways of doing what you want with a vector image with the merge swatch feature, but that depends on what sort of vector image you have.  Presumably the vector wreath you are working with is made up of a number of rgb or cmyk values.