8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2009 5:21 PM by cheluto2

Newbie: How to use InDesign with ASP.Net site?

cheluto2

***Sorry for the double-post.  I posted this in the InDesign Server section, too.  Not sure if it belongs here, instead, so here it goes.

I'm a total newbie with InDesign, and have been tasked with developing a sample ASP.Net mini app to figure out if we can use InDesign to replace Quark in an existing site.  Here are the details, and I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction to get this going.

I will have InDesign templates available with text and image placeholders (can be one or many of each).

I need to create an ASP.Net web application where:

- Users can select one of the available templates

- Enter their own text to plug into the text placeholders

- Upload their own images to plug into the image placeholders

- Preview the resulting document on the screen

- Click a button to generate a PDF version of this document and view/save it.

It sounds simple, and I'm sure it is, but I can't find detailed information on how to do it and, since I'm completely unfamiliar with InDesign, I'm a little lost.  I know ASP.Net, I just don't know where to start to use InDesign Server (or client, I don't know) from .Net code.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated and rewarded.

Thanks in advance!!

• 1. Re: Newbie: How to use InDesign with ASP.Net site?
          cheluto2 Level 1

Anybody? Please? Any help would be much appreciated.

• 2. Re: Newbie: How to use InDesign with ASP.Net site?
            AdobeScripts Level 3

It would be easier for you if you create VBScript or JavaScript "on the fly" (in .Net as text file) and call it from system shell (VBScript) or from InDesign (VBScript and JavaScript) - sorry, but I don't have .Net so I can't give you examples - you need to search this forum - there should be something.

robin

www.adobescripts.co.uk

• 3. Re: Newbie: How to use InDesign with ASP.Net site?