4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2009 6:56 PM by Jim_Babbage

Jagged edged text

I am very new to fireworks

I bought  fireworks and installed about a week ago and been enjoying creating numerous things however yesterday I tried to create a new banner for my business and  when on clicked on text button and started to type text it came out all jagged.

I tried everything including trying different fonts but nothing seemed to fix it  I even tried re-installing fireworks thinking it might have a glitz

I am at a lost to what is going on. I can open a saved banner that had good text in it and I can add into it with good text but as soon as I create a new canvas and select text button in vector and type it  comes out jagged. I do not understand why it worked okay a couple of days ago and then for no reason has gone jagged.

I have not added any other programmes into computer at all in fact I have changed nothing.

I have fireworks  version

any help would be great as it is sending me crazy

I have attached a sample of what the text looks like

• 1. Re: Jagged edged text
          Jim_Babbage Level 4

First of all, install the Fireworks update patch, available at adobe.com. You are not running the latest version of FW CS4. Second, it looks like you have your text set to no anti-alias. Try swtiching this setting to a different anti alias setting in the Property inspector.

• 2. Re: Jagged edged text
            trevorg1111 Level 1

Hi Jim

did all of what you suggested but still having no luck with text any other suggestions?

I have attached again the results after I did what you suggested

It does not make any sense because it was working okay when I installed it a few days before

• 3. Re: Jagged edged text
              pixlor Level 4

The second example looks okay to me, and it's distinctly different from the first, non-aliased example.