12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2009 5:39 PM by Curt Wrigley

Audio Background Noise CS4

JKepler@rochester.rr.com Level 1

Hello:

I am working with multiple video clips! Some of them are much older and shot around 1986, etc. so when they transition there is a considerable difference in background noise clutter. Humming, suttle buzzing, etc.

How do I get rid of the background noise so that interviews can be heard more sharp. Basically improve the sound of the old interview footage. I am a rookie when it comes to sound editing.

Thank you. I will check the correct answer as soon as Inail it if anyone can help me.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Audio Background Noise CS4
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Preferably use Audition to do that, but maybe Soundbooth can do it as well.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Audio Background Noise CS4

Are Audition and Soundbooth part of Premiere Pro or are they separate programs?

Is it possible that you can explain how hard it is to do what I'm asking? It may be a lot to ask but can you provide directions?

Thank you I have never tried to do this before.

Jill

• 3. Re: Audio Background Noise CS4
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Audition is a separate program, as is Soundbooth, but Soundbooth is part of the Production Studio and Master Collection. Essentially it is a very dumbed-down version of Audition.

What you need to do is get a 'signature' of a piece of your audio track that contains the humming/crackling and use that to remove it from the complete audio track and replace the original audio with the corrected version. That in essence is all you need to do. Sounds simple, but it requires some experimenting to avoid losing other details in your sound track.

• 4. Re: Audio Background Noise CS4

Great! Thanks for answering my question. Do you know of any good links to video tutorials on how to do this or similar editing in soundbooth? I have soundbooth!

Jill

• 5. Re: Audio Background Noise CS4

Hello again: