5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 9:06 AM by Printer_Rick

Early and late binding workflows in ICC based color management

kjhiugiog Level 1

Hi all!

I'm a graphic design student at Reading Uni in the UK, and I'm writing my BA dissertation on early and late binding workflows in ICC based color management for print production. I'm intending to write to a graphic designer audience from a designer's point of view. Please do comment here if you have anything to say on this topic, or you can point me to the right direction. I'm also looking for studios where I could conduct my case studies who employ early, medium or late binding workflows.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Early and late binding workflows in ICC based color management
          John Danek Level 4

Not sure what you are referring to in regards to early, mid, and late binding color management.  I've incorporated a workflow that incorporates color management in the applications and in the proof hardware here in the studio.  The print vendors do not have any problems taking the files and running them through their RIP and/or plate processors.  There's not enough room here to write about the entire workflow and how it works.  I've been in the business 30 years and the learning never stops.

• 2. Re: Early and late binding workflows in ICC based color management
            frostbytefalls Level 1

Will your paper have a title like  "Color Management is Fun and Easy" or "The Fiasco of Color Management"?

Notice that in the past week you and I are the only posts on this forum! This is the Color Management forum on Adobe's website. Shouldn't it be really busy?

It appears, that even after nearly ten years  I can't remember when color management first began to appear in prepress software), the industry has not embraced color management.