4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 8:48 AM by Guestva

Flex 3 or Flex 4 Training?

Guestva

Is the Flex 4 training supposed to be taken after the Flex 3 training?  I realize they are different versions of the same software, but in reading over the content for the Flex 3 and Flex 4 training courses, I saw that there was a lot of difference between the two.  So I was unsure whether the 2 versions were that different, or whether one training was supposed to complement the other (ie, changes in Flex 4).

Thanks

• 1. Re: Flex 3 or Flex 4 Training?
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6

Flex 4 brings some important changes to some areas of Flex, particularly states, skinning, and layout.

I think to a certain extent it depends on where you are in your Flex study and how you will be using it.

If you will be developing apps for clients as a consultant, I would focus on Flex 3 first. Flex 4 is not even out yet, and there are far fewer resources out there if you have questions and problems. When Flex 4 is released next spring you can ramp up.

If this post answers your question or helps, please mark it as such.

Greg Lafrance
          www.ChikaraDev.com

Flex Development and Support Services

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Flex 3 or Flex 4 Training?
            Guestva Level 1

Hi Greg,

Thanks for answering.

In answer to your question, I am nowhere in my Flex study yet.  I have no knowledge of it.  I am a developer at my company, and my manager is looking for people with some Flex knowledge.  That´s all he said, and that´s probably all he knows at this point.  I imagine we´ll be using it to develop applications at some point in the next few months.  That said, I want to begin developing my knowledge of Flex by doing either the Flex 3 or Flex 4 training found on this website.  I just didn´t know whether the Flex 4 training complemented or substituted the Flex 3 training.