1 2 Previous Next 46 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2009 2:01 AM by Dirk Becker 

what's the difference between a plug-in and a script?

critter_monster Level 1

Hi everyone, can anybody explain this to me quick? I'm not programming-savvy, but I'd like to know.

thanks!!

• 2. Re: what's the difference between a plug-in and a script?
          critter_monster Level 1

Thanks for the link, Steven. But wow, that guy's podcast is totally over my head.

Please forgive my ignorance. I don't usually involve myself with "behind the scenes" info--I'm only an artist!!-- but tomorrow morning I am teaching some people about "extra cool things InDesign can do" and I just *know* this question will come up.

I guess I just wanted to know: from a user standpoint, what is the difference? why do we sometimes extend functionality with things called "scripts" and other times with "plug-ins"? what makes them different from one another--for example, why do I run a "script" to get cool corner effects and a "plug-in"  to do crop marks?

thanks again

• 3. Re: what's the difference between a plug-in and a script?
            Peter Kahrel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Scripts and plug-ins aim to do the same thing, namely, to provide something that Indesign can't do (yet). There the similarities stop. Everything you can script you can also do as a plug-in, but not the other way around: there are many complex plug-ins that do things which you wouldn't be able to script.

For simple things, you'd write a script because they're easier to develop and test. But being able to script doesn't mean you can write plug-ins: I for one can write some scripts but I don't know how to write plug-ins.

Another factor is that for various reasons many people don't like plug-ins, whereas they don't mind running scripts.

These seem to me to be the main differences.

Peter

• 4. Re: what's the difference between a plug-in and a script?
              Loic.Aigon Adobe Community Professional