3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2009 1:22 PM by Ned Murphy

two CS4's produce different published .swf from the same fileset

ZaphMann

Hello, I'm a novice at Flash, but an experienced troubleshooter, I've spent days on this intriguing problem:

*Can two CS4's produce different published .swf from the same fileset?

I have a flash suite written by a young man in China.

When I test the .swf file in the suite it works fine.

However I need to make some minor redesigns so I need to change the .fla file - but before I do I found that when I publish a new .swf from the .fla file (with all the necessary action scripts/xml etc in the right place) it doesn't produce the same outcome. Instead the navigation (next page, items per page etc) is missing.

When he does the same thing (I trust his integrity) he gets the new .swf with the navigation in tact.

You can see the two outcomes at the web address below (mock data).

There are no code changes, no library changes that I can find.

So I thought maybe there is something about different settings or 'environments' that can affect the outcome?

You can see at   >> http://www.zaphmann.com/source/source.html << the correct navigation.

Then merely republishing the source.fla (and a rename of .swf) NOW The navigation is gone.  >>>> http://www.zaphmann.com/source/sourcetoFromFLAswf.html <<<<<

Any ideas???

Thank you - a free book to anyone who has the answer.

• 1. Re: two CS4's produce different published .swf from the same fileset
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Do you both have the latest revision of CS4 installed?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: two CS4's produce different published .swf from the same fileset
            ZaphMann Level 1

Hello Ned, I

definitely have the very latest version, I will ask Mr. Chen to confirm his version. If his version were, say, 6 months old could that be of any significance?