7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2008 11:50 AM by

    Help for a newbie

    piego_danisi
      Hallo everyone.

      I'm kind of new at using Dreamweaver. Anyway...
      I'm trying to take care of my acting company's site. The former 'webmaster' used Frontpage. I'm trying to correct some of the pages he already made. I've already imported the whole website via FTP.
      When I try to open the htm pages, I can't see the contents (text, images, and objects) in the Design view (as a matter of fact I only see the layout of the page: borders, tables and stuff). I see the whole code in the code view, but nothing in the Design view.
      I've tried to correct a page by editing the code, but it would take too much time doing that with all the other pages, since I'm not so good at editing html.

      Can anyone help me with this? I've tried to google this problem, but found nothing.

      Thank you in advance.

      Piego - Italy
        • 1. Re: Help for a newbie
          Level 7
          Before doing anything else, take a couple of weeks to gothrough the DW
          tutorials, and also to study HTML and CSS. The more you know about those,
          the easier your transition will be. DW expects alot more from you than FP
          did, and as a result, you may find it much more frustrating to have the raw
          reality of web development staring you in the face rather than the wizards
          of FP.

          > Is there a way to convert a Frontpage site into a
          > Dreamweaver site

          1. I'd define a Dreamweaver site that points to a location on your hard
          drive for the local site's root, and to the current FP site on the web as
          the remote site
          2. I'd use Dreamweaver (if your host supports FTP connections) to download
          the remote site to the root of the site you just defined on the hard drive.
          This will pick up all the pages *after* webbot action so that shared borders
          and all are already present in the page HTML. This will also pick up all of
          the server scripting. Note - in the event that you are not able to connect
          using FTP since some FP hosts block that protocol, you will have to use a
          third party 'site copier' like Black Widow, QuadSucker, or WebCopier, (or
          even the DW extension called SiteAssist from WebAssist) to connect and
          download using http protocols. Doing it this way will *not* retrieve any of
          your server-script code, if any (unless you have used the WebAssist
          extension).

          3. I'd create a DW template for the pages, that captures the "shared
          border"
          effect you had in FP.
          4. I'd copy and paste content from each FP pages to a new template child
          page and then save the new child page with an easily identifiable
          nomenclature that is distinct from what was used on the FP site (since you
          are saving the new child pages into the same local site as the FP pages).
          5. When the basic site is completed, I'd upload the new DW pages to some
          staging area/webspace, and by using the browser, I'd verify that the site
          (as it now exists remotely) is complete.
          6. Then I'd create a *new* DW site in a new location on the hard drive, and
          connect to and download all the files from the staging site.
          7. You can now delete the original FP site from your local system if you
          want.

          You now have a complete site (minus any of the FP extension server-side
          code) that has no FP footprint.

          If you have used any FP server extension functions on the original FP site
          (form processing, guestbooks, tables of contents, etc.), you will have to
          recreate those functions in DW using 3rd party scripts, or scripts that you
          write yourself.


          --
          Murray --- ICQ 71997575
          Adobe Community Expert
          (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
          ==================
          http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          ==================


          "piego_danisi" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:g2e0dm$7hf$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Hallo everyone.
          >
          > I'm kind of new at using Dreamweaver. Anyway...
          > I'm trying to take care of my acting company's site. The former
          > 'webmaster'
          > used Frontpage. I'm trying to correct some of the pages he already made.
          > I've
          > already imported the whole website via FTP.
          > When I try to open the htm pages, I can't see the contents (text, images,
          > and
          > objects) in the Design view (as a matter of fact I only see the layout of
          > the
          > page: borders, tables and stuff). I see the whole code in the code view,
          > but
          > nothing in the Design view.
          > I've tried to correct a page by editing the code, but it would take too
          > much
          > time doing that with all the other pages, since I'm not so good at editing
          > html.
          >
          > Can anyone help me with this? I've tried to google this problem, but found
          > nothing.
          >
          > Thank you in advance.
          >
          > Piego - Italy
          >

          • 2. Re: Help for a newbie
            Level 7
            i would guess it's probably an easily fixable but serious html syntax error.

            are some tags highlighted in yellow in code view?

            url address to an example page?

            --
            Alan
            Adobe Community Expert, dreamweaver

            http://www.adobe.com/communities/experts/



            • 3. Re: Help for a newbie
              piego_danisi Level 1
              Probably I didn't make myself clear...
              The site actually works. It runs perfectly both on firefox and explorer. I'm using the old pages made with fronpage as templates to produce new pages with DW. The only thing is that I can't see a thing (apart the table lines) using the Design view.
              Anyway, go check: http://88.149.158.146/temenos2007/sulmare.htm

              Thanks

              Piego
              • 4. Re: Help for a newbie
                Level 7


                > http://88.149.158.146/temenos2007/sulmare.htm

                line 217 </td></td>

                delete the extra </td> then click mouse into design view, the content now
                shows.

                do a find sitewide in code for </td></td>
                and change to </td>

                --
                Alan
                Adobe Community Expert, dreamweaver

                http://www.adobe.com/communities/experts/



                • 5. Re: Help for a newbie
                  piego_danisi Level 1
                  Can't say how much I'm grateful!!!
                  Thank you thank you thank you!!!

                  Now I'll go study some html.

                  Again, thank you!!!

                  Piego
                  • 6. Re: Help for a newbie
                    Level 7
                    By the way, there is a validator online at -

                    http://validator.w3.org

                    It will find mistakes like this in a jiffy.

                    --
                    Murray --- ICQ 71997575
                    Adobe Community Expert
                    (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
                    ==================
                    http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
                    http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
                    ==================


                    "piego_danisi" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
                    news:g2eila$q0j$1@forums.macromedia.com...
                    > Can't say how much I'm grateful!!!
                    > Thank you thank you thank you!!!
                    >
                    > Now I'll go study some html.
                    >
                    > Again, thank you!!!
                    >
                    > Piego

                    • 7. Re: Help for a newbie
                      Can you give more details where we can get more detailed documentation