6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2009 4:34 PM by the_wine_snob

Editing strategy for 15-hour scientific seminar video?

PEname

Question

Should I break the 15 hours of video into a series of 15-30 min files that contain only one or two specific topics or should I create one or more larger files that use bookmarks to help the user navigate to their topic of interest?  I’ve never worked on a large project like this and I have never worked on anything for ‘business’ purposes, so I am open to all suggestions!  Thanks in advance.  (I've posted this in both Pro and Elements forums).

Background

For the last 4 years I’ve used PE(ver 1 & 2) for many home videos, typically 1 hour in length.  I am a scientist at a very large pharmaceutical company and I just initiated my first ever work-related  project to convert a 15-hour seminar from VHS tape to digital video.  Almost 20 years ago my company videotaped a seminar by a world-expert in our field and I want to make that info available to our current staff (most of whom have no training in our field – no wonder our industry is in a slump!).  I also plan to have the seminar handout (~300 pages) scanned into a PDF file that can accompany the digital video (fortunately, our company will do this paper-digital conversion for me at no charge).

Rather than simply convert tapes to a series of DVDs with menus (or as iso files), my goal is to make the specific topics covered in the training more readily available on our corporate network. 

I think the final project would be on our corporate network either as a series of files (ISO or mpg) on a networked shared area or perhaps on our department’s website.  (This is only for internal use within our company – a mega-corporation with 50,000 employees.  No, we no longer due this sort of video-work inside the company – everything is outsourced and no one would every pay to do the project I have in mind).