1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 13, 2009 10:35 PM by Kwing Flyer

PE8 Trials and Tribulations

DolphMan Level 1

This is the story of my four day experience installing and running PE8.  For some of you there are tips that may help fix your problems. For others you will simply relate to my experience.  For those considering purchasing PE8 I highly recommend that you do your homework before jumping in.

I've been using PE4 for the last two years and was quite happy with the features and flexibility.  I consider myself a prosumer/serious hobbyist and have extensive geek experience.  My usual jobs consist of importing HDV video from DV tape that was recorded with a Canon HV20. I combine the video with still shots from a Canon 20D in JPG format, throw in some music, and make short (<5 min) videos.  I render and export in Widescreen DVD format (both PC and disk) and to H.264 HD format (both PC and Blu-ray disk).

Last week I decided that I should finally upgrade to the newest version just to stay current. I didn't read any reviews or do any research since I've always had a high level of respect for Adobe quality. Unfortunately my experience with PE8 has not been good.  I've spent the better part of four days trying to get it working properly.  I've had successes and disapointments. Some of you may benefit from the fixes that I used and I hope they will get you going with a functional and stable platform.

System:

Intel Core 2 Quad (Q6600) native 2.4 GHz, overclocked to 3.0 GHz

4 GB RAM

1 TB striped RAID (RAID 0 for speed)

Nvidia 8800 GT

Samsung SH-S203B DVD RW

Pioneer BDR-203 BD RW (Blu-ray)

Vista x32