5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2009 8:28 AM by Ned Murphy

the first layer dissapears when i add a new layer

itznaren

Hi All,

i am trying to build a fireplace in flash where the mantles, surround type and face plates are changable when a value from a drop down menu is selected.I put each of the objects(mantles, surround types and face plates) in a seperate layer and am making them visible/invisible by controlling the alpha property of each of the objects. It worked fine till i had about 30 layers/images on the flash file, but as i try to add new layers/ images the new layer sort of covers the first layer making it invisible.i am new to flash and can you please help me out it in resolving the issue. I have also attached the flash file i am working on.

Thanks very much in advance

• 1. Re: the first layer dissapears when i add a new layer
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If layers are blocking other layers then you can click the eye icon of whatever layers to hide/show them as desired.

As far as using the alpha property, that's okay, but you might consider using the visible property instead.

Also, for the code where you change the visibility, you can greatly reduce the amount of code by first calling a function that hides everything and following that with making the selected item visible.

• 2. Re: the first layer dissapears when i add a new layer
            itznaren Level 1