7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2010 12:25 AM by tech_savvy

slow conforming

mightypants

I'm a complete newb here, so I apologize for the basic question.  I've been doing very basic video editing using Windows Movie Maker for a while--generally just a few cuts and fades--and recently got PE primarily because of it's support for more file types.  Generally, in WMM I could import an AVI in next to no time and begin editing.  I'm trying to import a rather large AVI in PE right now, and the conforming process is taking quite a while--I think I stopped it after about 15 minutes and it was at 35%.  Trying to make any edits or even move the playhead while playing has not been possible during this process.  Is this behavior normal?  Any ideas on how I can fix it?  Also, is there a manual or something more in depth than the online help info?

I'm running a Dell w/3.0 Ghz Quad processor, 4GB RAM.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: slow conforming
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Conforming is getting the Audio into 32-bit floating point form and also generating .PEK (Waveform Display) files.

Besides the CPU, this process is heavily intensive on the I/O sub-system, i.e. your HDD's. There are a lot of very large files being written - the .CFA files.

Please tell us about your HDD's, their speed, the controller type, the amount of defragmented free space and how these HDD's are allocated.

Good luck,

Hunt

PS to give you an idea of the time span, I just Imported a 45 min. DV-AVI Type II into PrPro on a dual Xeon 3.2GHz w/ 4GB RAM and 6x SATA II 1TB HDD's. It took 5 mins. for the Conforming to complete.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: slow conforming
            mightypants Level 1

Hunt,

Thanks for the helpful response.  My system has 2 WD Caviar Blue Drives, each with over 200GB out of 320GB available.  The system is pretty new, so there is very little fragmented data on either.  I have my video files on the non-boot drive.