5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2009 4:59 PM by SherlockSuperdude

Need help loading external images

SherlockSuperdude

I have looked everywhere I can for this, and I am at wit's end.

I have what is probably a very simple questioin-

All I need to do is load a bunch of thumbnails into small pictures frames that the user can scroll back and forth. If you go to http://www.apple.com/mac/ you'll see a slider at the top. This is basically what I want to do, but in flash, and I need to load the images dynamically.

I can't figure out the best (or any way) to do this. I have created a thumbnail movieclip "symbol", but if I drag 5 instances out, and load an image, it changes the image in ALL of them. I want to have a different image in each one. I have been a programmer for 15 years, but for some reason I just don't get it. I can change the size, rotation, etc of each instance, but if I change the image, it changes in all of them. I am begging for help, or some code here- my job literally depends on it- please don't think that means I made a promise I can't keep- but the company needs this done to launch a major website and I'm the only programmer in the company.

How do I change each instance to a different image? That's really all I need to know. Do I copy the object, and not create an instance? I haven't used flash in years so I'm completely, utterly confused. If you give me example code, and show me how to do this, I'll buy you a game/blueray/dvd from bestbuy.com. Seriously, I need help.

I want it to drag back and forth like an iPhone- I can do that, but the number of images/picture frames is arbitrary.

It's 3:00 in the morning, and I'm about to sleep on the office floor. lol, please

• 1. Re: Need help loading external images
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP