4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2009 1:45 PM by ehusar

What comes first, chicken or the egg?

ACFlex

So I am new to Flex, and I am new to actual programming, but I have experience in UI design.  My question for all of you Flex gurus is...as I am starting a project running solo, and I am not sure if I should start laying out the application visually first, then add the underlying coding and linkage, or should it start with the code piece by piece, then rework the layout to be appealing...

Thanks for your amazing support!

Rich

• 1. Re: What comes first, chicken or the egg?
          msakrejda Level 4

That really depends on what you're most comfortable with, but for what it's worth, I usually start with the "guts" first, and then do some experimental UI exploration (usually in a completely "sandbox" project), then connect everything together.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: What comes first, chicken or the egg?
            Gregory Lafrance Level 6

I think it depends on what you will untimately do with this project, and with how much time you have.

If you don't have much time and will sell this project when it is complete, I would do some design work first, to flesh-out the workflows, as that will determine moch of the business logic.

If you have more time and are doing this just to learn Flex, spend less time planning the design and jump in, because you'll do more rework, and that means you'll learn more.

If this post answers your question or helps, please mark it as such.

Greg Lafrance
            www.ChikaraDev.com

Flex Development and Support Services

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: What comes first, chicken or the egg?
              JeffryHouser Level 4

Short answer:  build the UI first.