2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2009 8:30 PM by aukevin

Splitting single video into multiple files - workflow improvements?

aukevin

I regularly need to split a single video into multiple separate files that are used by other programs.  I'm using Premiere Pro CS4 for a number of reasons including the ability to easily and accurately select a scene by individual frames, native audio and video effects/filters, and the ability to import and export various video types.  I'm open to using other tools, but I haven't yet found one that is even close to Premiere Pro when it comes to accurately selecting split points.

I'm not a Premiere Pro expert.  I have been doing this for about four months and have read many resources (books, forum posts, help guides) to refine the workflow I'm currently using.  My question:  does anyone know any improvements that might save me time/keystrokes.

Current workflow:

• I've bound F8 to File > Export > Media

1. Import video file
      2. Open in source monitor
      3. Set In and Out points for scene in source monitor
      4. Ctrl-drag from source monitor to Project Panel (creates a subclip)
      5. Repeat 3 and 4 for all scenes/subclips
      6. Select all subclips from Project Panel and drag to timeline
      7. Set work area bar to first subclip in timeline by the following four keystrokes:  Home, Alt-[, PageDown, Alt-]
      8. Type F8 (File > Export > Media shortcut).  Type output file name, click OK and the first subclip is put in the AME queue
      9. For the remaining subclips, type: Alt-[, PageDown, Alt-], F8, output file name, OK and repeat until done

Any thoughts/ideas on workflow improvements?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Splitting single video into multiple files - workflow improvements?
          the_wine_snob Level 9