8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2016 12:37 PM by happybana0

Setting exact size of art boards

jmcm51

I am new to Illustrator and using CS4. In Photoshop I can set an image size to the exact dimension I want but ai keeps rounding my input up. I have a client who requires work at specific sizes, for example 1.625" x 1.417". What I get in Illustrator is 1.63" x 1.42". I realize the difference is very small but this work plugs into spaces on a larger printed ouput.

I can find nothing in the preferences or document set up that addresses this. Is there a way for me to get the size I want?

Thanks for any suggestions.

• 1. Re: Setting exact size of art boards
          Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

As far as I know though it rounds off the figure itself it does not actually make the artboard a different size.

I know that bugs you and probably most people but I think ID does this as well and it still works for everyone.
          This might actually have something to do with a legal matter rather than a technical. It might be someone or some other developer has a patent on that kid of display of dimensions. As certain dimensions in Illustrator can be displayed in 3 decimal places.

I think Quark Express can display this in perhaps four such places and they may actually have the patent and so if you don't make arrangements you go to court and arrangemens might not be in the offering at that.

Well I seem to recall one of the developers has a priority holding on the technology to display in such way for page sizes and perhas other dimensions as well.

Perhaps I am off base but i think that is the issue and that your document will actually be the size you speciaiy.

I know this seems like some that should not be.

I am certain if I am wrong someone will let us know.

• 2. Re: Setting exact size of art boards
            Scott Falkner Level 5