16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2009 5:29 AM by jamesorlowski88

Exporting widescreen DV project to Media Encoder Fails

JamSki88

This is my first attempt at exporting a video using CS4's media encoder, and when I try, the encoder app seems to not be able to "find" or load the Premiere CS4 sequence.  It seems to fail after a few minutes, during which the status of the job is "Waiting" and at the bottom it says "Loading xxxxx.prproj".

Any thoughts?  I'm on an i5 iMac with the CS4 Production suite installed.

Here's the error it gives:

- Source File: /Users/user/Library/Caches/TemporaryItems/Wedding.prproj
      - Output File: /Users/user/Video/Projects/Wedding/DVD/_Wedding.mpg
      - Preset Used: Export Widescreen DVD 7Mbps CBR
      - Video:
      - Audio:
      - Bitrate:
      - Encoding Time: 00:12:19
      Sun Dec 20 15:56:11 2009 : Encoding Failed
      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Could not read from the source. Please check if it has moved or been deleted.
      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

• 1. Re: Exporting widescreen DV project to Media Encoder Fails
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Well, as you are on a Mac, many of my "usual suspects" are out the window.

Now, I'd wonder if something on your Mac is "locking" the file. On a PC, one of those usual suspects is Windows Indexing. Does the Mac has similar. Basically, this is a search enhancer. Doesn't the Mac have something called Spotlight, or similar?

Besides the file getting "locked," could it be in use by any other program, as unlikely as it seems?

Please tell us about your I/O sub-system, i.e. your HDD's and how they're allocated. It could be some major bottleneck in disk read/write.

Just some thoughts, and possibly none that are the cause.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Exporting widescreen DV project to Media Encoder Fails
            JamSki88 Level 1