4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2010 10:48 AM by jjrosen1126

datagrid renderers (possible classfactory?)

jjrosen1126

I'm still relatively new to Flex, but I think this should be possible, but I can't figure it out.

I posted this question earlier, but I think I was looking at it wrong.  Here's an example of an XML giving baseball player stats :  (I'm not actually doing something based on baseball, but I can't divulge the actual data, but this is a good comparison)

Example

<columns>

<column dataName="HR">Home Runs</column>

<column dataName="BatAvg">Batting Average</column>

</columns>

<players>

<player>

<Name team="Pirates">Bob Smith</Name>

<HR rank="1">35</HR>

<BatAvg rank="46">.245</BatAvg>

</player>

<player>

<Name team="Cardinals">Frank Sinatra</Name>

<HR rank="2">34</HR>

<BatAvg rank="23">.300</BatAvg>

</player>

</players>

What I want is to have a datagrid.  Each row will be two rows high.  The first column is for the Name of each player with their team underneath.  Then there should be a column for each other stat.  Each column would have the stat with the second row saying "Rank : " and the given ranking.  When you click on the headers it should sort by the Rank, if it needs to be the stat, that's fine too.

Using the above data.

PlayerHome RunsBatting Average

Bob Smith

Pirates

Ranked 1

Ranked 46

Frank Sinatra

Cardinals

Ranked 2

Ranked 23

I don't know how many columns there will be.  It could be 3, it could be over 20 (which makes a very unreadable datagrid, I know, but there it is).  This makes hard coding each column and renderer problematic, especially because I don't know what stats there will be (remember, it's not actually about baseball ). 

I can hard code the first column with no problem.  The other columns are the problem.  I had no problem adding columns when it was just the stat. 

It looked something like :

var columnsList:XMLList = event.result.columns.column;

var tempCol:DataGridColumn;