5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2009 11:05 PM by kglad

on Release GetURL not working with movieclip animation

kurtstoll

I am a Noob to Flash/Actionscript and am having problems getting some movieclips to link to different URLs on release. I am able to get them to animate, and I am able to get them to link to an html page in the same folder, but I can’t get both functionalities to work at the same time and it is driving me crazy!!  I've tried putting the actionscript in the instance object, in the action layer, and other things and nothing seems to work!?

Here is the link to the source file:   http://www.myfavorites.com/flashtest/header_v8_122209_v2.fla
      I believe that the actionscripting needs to be done in the "baners" movieclip, but it could also be the "Symbol 3" movieclip.  I'm not sure and this is where I also need help.

Here is also a link to the .swf (http://www.myfavorites.com/flashtest/header_v8_122209_v2.swf).  See, if you mouse over the first two clips, they animate, but they do not go to the HTML page if you click on them (http://www.myfavorites.com/flashtest/success1.html).  The third clip will go to the page success1.html in the same folder if you click on it, but it does not animate on mouse over.

I'm using Flash CS3 as my editor and I'm using ActionScript 2.0 for the scripting.

Any help you can provide on this is most appreciated!!  I'm normally pretty good at figuring out things on my own, but This problem is driving me crazy!!

• 1. Re: on Release GetURL not working with movieclip animation
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

show the code you are currently trying.

• 2. Re: on Release GetURL not working with movieclip animation
            kurtstoll Level 1

Hi KGLAD,

Thanks for responding.  First, full disclosure.  I purchased this .FLA from TemplateMonster.com and am trying to modify it for a client.  This is why I don't understand some of the coding.