7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 25, 2009 7:21 AM by the_wine_snob

Rendering

kdoc2 Level 1

I'm new to Premiere Pro CS4, on a trial version, learning it with Lynda. Can someone please direct me to an understanding of "Rendering". I note that most things I do in Premiere then slows down or distorts the clips until I render--and that takes considerable time. What's going on, and how to minimize the time spent waiting for rendering to take place? I can save the effects etc. for the end, but is there anything else I should be doing--for example in importing, etc? Please

Thanks

kdoc

• 1. Re: Rendering
          Harm Millaard Level 7

A couple of things:

Use editable formats, use a high powered system, render only if needed for preview, and last use a high powered system.

Rendering is only used for previews where you need fluid play-back. Otherwise there is no need to render.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Rendering
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Along with Harm's comments, Rendering is highly dependent on exactly which Effects are applied. Some require almost no additional time, and some will require maybe 10x the time. It depends.

One thing to also consider is that you can use the WAB (Work Area Bar) to ONLY Render the section of the Timeline, that you are working on.

Many editors do not Render that much, and then only for tiny snippets of the Timeline, where it's necessary to see smooth playback. I go through maybe 5 Projects, with no rendering. However, there will be other Projects, where I might Render tiny snippets dozens of times, as I work to get just the right Effect. Then, Rendering is just a fact of life, but at least you can limit the area that is Rendered via the WAB. Just click-drag on its little "bracket" handles to shorten it to the area that you are working. It can be resized, for your next area.

Good luck, and hope that this helps,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Rendering
              kdoc2 Level 1