5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2009 6:08 AM by Wade_Zimmerman

How to draw a picture like Ikea Audrey

marced4

Sounds pretty odd this question I am a total newbie to Adobe Illustrator, trying to find my way in it.

I think a lot of you know the 'painting' of Audrey Hepburn from Ikea, see example: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_j3j6T-u5W-I/SbhC-TQqspI/AAAAAAAACnI/OdhoOIFpr8U/s400/audrey+canv as_ikea+80.00.jpg

Now I want to create this kind of picture from a real picture I have. How can I do this best and create the same effect as this Ikea image?

Which tools should I use and what is the best way to determine which part to leave behind and which part to draw just like in this image?

Appreciate your help!

Cheers

• 1. Re: How to draw a picture like Ikea Audrey
          JETalmage Level 6
          I am a total newbie to Adobe Illustrator, trying to find my way in it.

You need to read the documentation contained in online Help and work through all its procedures yourself to develop at least a working knowledge of the program. There is no shortcut to this. Focus especially on becoming comfortable with using the Pen tool to draw paths and the manipulation of their segments, anchorPoints, and curve handles using the white pointer. There is no shortcut to this.

...see example...

That's just an example of a very common effect: a single-color posterization. Posterization finds a contrast value, based on color and/or luminance (gray tint) and uses that value to trace an "edge" between colors or between grayscale values. That "edge" is then used to mark the separation between a small number of colors, or in the case of a single-color posterization, between black and white.