6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2013 5:42 AM by Steve Grisetti

problem with combining cross dissolve with zoom preset (for slideshow)

LisaWallace2010

I'm putting together a slideshow of scanned wedding photos. I'm new to Premiere Elements 8, so I'm running a test with just 7 photos in the slideshow.

I have applied a cross dissolve transition between each photo, and I have also applied an effects preset called "zoom in 640x480." I applied the zoom preset to each photo. The problem is, when I watch the rendered avi video, the zoom does not begin until the cross dissolve finishes. Each time a new photo appears, there's a slight delay before the zoom begins. My goal is to have a zoom that begins the moment you see each photo, not with a delay. I believe the cross dissolve is causing the problem, because when I render the video without this transition, the zoom works the way I want it to (by starting with the first frame of each photo).

The video I have attached will show what I'm talking about. There's a hesitation at the beginning of each new photo. (Ignore the colored dots...they were just used as part of another test)

Thank you very much if you have any advice!

Lisa

• 1. Re: problem with combining cross dissolve with zoom preset (for slideshow)
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

This will happen if you add the preset before you add the transition. (Because the transition extends the duration of the still a second.)

The easiest solution is to adjust the keyframing a bit, sliding the Motion keyframes to the new beginning and/or end of your clip. To do this, right-click on each photo and select Properties, then open the Properties keyframing timeline for Motion and adjust the keyframing points.

The tuturials on keyframing and, more specifically, my free article on "Basic Keyframing", at Muvipix.com will help you learn the basics of keyframing.

• 2. Re: problem with combining cross dissolve with zoom preset (for slideshow)