4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2010 12:32 PM by AdobeScripts

move stories in XML

ThisGuy-500 Level 1

Hi,

I'm a newbie to scripting, and I'm wondering if someone can help me out.  I'm trying to write a script that will cluster two types of XML tags based on the numbers within them.  The tags are called "FigRef", and "FigCaption" respectively. 

The figure references are disseminated throughout the text of the main stories. The captions are in separate "stories" in InDesign, and they appear at the end of the XML document.   What I want to do with scripting is move each caption story to the paragraph before the reference (see below).  I want the caption before the reference because in the final layout the captions are pushed out to the side with a float in CSS.

The way I'd like it to appear:

<story><FigCaption>Figure 1.1 This is the caption for Figure 1.1</FigCaption></story>

<story>...Now examine <FigRef>Figure 1.1</FigRef>.  You can see that...</story>

...the way it is now:

<story><paragraph>...Now examine <FigRef>Figure 1.1</FigRef>.  You can see that...</paragraph></story>

<story><paragraph>...some other paragraphs</paragraph></story>

<story><FigCaption>Figure 1.1 This is the caption for Figure 1.1</FigCaption></story>

You can see an example of the final structure that I'd like to end up with from the picture attached.

Thanks for any help!

-ThisGuy

• 1. Re: move stories in XML--revision
          ThisGuy-500 Level 1

I can make my question even more simple, by starting out with all the elements in the same story.  Can someone suggest a way to move each FigCaption to its corresponding FigRef?

The way I'd like it to appear:

------------------

<story>

<paragraph>...some other paragraphs</paragraph>

<FigCaption>Figure 1.1 This is the caption for Figure 1.1</FigCaption>

<paragraph>...Now examine <FigRef>Figure 1.1</FigRef>.  You can see that...</paragraph>

</story>

--------------------

...the way it is now:

<story>