4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2011 9:04 AM by klakhouse

Multiple checkboxes

DJBAN

Hi all, I am new to acrobat forms, so this will probably sound a bit rudimentry for some.  I have a form with two main checkboxes.  The first main checkbox I want to make it check all of the 12 subset checkboxes.  The second main checkbox I want to check so it unchecks all 12 of the same subset checkboxes that were checked by the first main checkbox.  All of which I can do.  What I want to be able to do is after unchecking the 12 subset checkboxes is to be able to randomly check any of the 12 subset checkboxes without all 12 being checked!!!!!!  Heeeeeeeeeelp!!!  I don't understand java scripting but I'm hoping someone will show me a script that would work, thanks, DJBAN

• 1. Re: Multiple checkboxes
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Do you know any programing?

Acrobat JavaScript is ECMA-262 compatible and has a number of unique properties and methods documented in the Acrobat SDK documentation in the Acrobat JS API Reference and Guide. Acrobat JavaScript like JavaScript is an Object Orientated Language, so you first need to access the field object and then you can change one of  its properties or use one of its methods.

To check all the named fields one could use for a button or other field:

// create array of field names to process
          var aFields = new Array ('Check Box1', 'Check Box2', 'Check Box3', 'Check Box4');
          // process using the array of field names
          for (i = 0; i < aFields.length; i++) {
             // get field name 'i'
             var cName = aFields[i];
             // use the 'checkThisBox' method to check the check box
             this.getField(cName).checkThisBox({nWidget: 0, bCheckIt: true});
             }

To uncheck all the named fields one could use for a button or other field:

// create array of field names to process