6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2014 11:22 AM by beto correa

How to group a text frame to graphic frame trough scripting?

vjunior

I'm using LabelGraphics.jsx (modified) but I would like to add one more feature to the scripting. The script add a text frame to the graphics selected, but I need most of the time group the text frame to the graphic. How to do that? Maybe I can add a check box to dialog box in order to group.

I'm just starting to learn scripting.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: How to group a text frame to graphic frame trough scripting?
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

You'll have to disable a part of the original script, because you cannot group objects on different layers. The original script creates a new layer and uses that as a reference in

myFrame.parent.textFrames.add(myLabelLayer, ...

Delete the italic variable and replace it with 'undefined'. (A more secure way would be to use the layer the original graphic is on!)

Also delete the "Create label layer" stuff higher up in the "myAddLabel" function, because creating a new layer seems to automatically make it the default.

If you run the script now, you will see the label frame gets created on your active document layer.

Next: adding a check box.

The script begins with defining the dialog box. At the bottom of the defining function (the "with(myDialog.dialogColumns.add()" braced part), add this

//Group Checkbox

with(dialogRows.add()){

var myGroupCheckbox = checkboxControls.add({staticLabel:"Group"});

}

Run the script and verify there is a new a checkbox at the bottom. It doesn't do anything yet, that's the next part.

To grab the checked/unchecked state of the checkbox, add this line in the "if(myResult == true)" block before the dialog destroy line:

var myDoGroup = myGroupCheckbox.checkedState;