0 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2008 7:42 AM by KelleyGee

Pause/Play Movie Clips

KelleyGee
      I posted this under another section but considered this to be a more appropriate area for this question:

I have a master swf called index.swf.

Index.swf has a main tool bar of buttons which load frames; each frame is named to coincide with the main bar button (i.e. genInfoBtn moves to frame: genInfo, setupBtn moves to frame: setup, etc). This works perfectly.

Each frame has a sidebar which loads external swfs (i.e. click genInfoBtn, move to frame genInfo, this loads external genInfo.swf) - each external swf is made up of a series of Movie Clips which run in succession along the timeline; each Movie Clip belongs within its own frame (i.e. MCseg1 is in frame seg1; MCseg2 is in frame seg2, etc). I have not used extensive coding with this project as I am still an intermediate user of ActionScript and do not know how to use code to load the Movie Clips. The best I can do is what I have done here: I have created the Movie Clips and placed them in order on the time line using keypoints and frame names.

I need to pause and play each individual Movie Clip at will; I have built two buttons (pauseBtn and playBtn) into a Movie Clip called MCpausePlay. The first frame of MCpausePlay contains the pauseBtn; this frame is coded with the global "stop();" Frame 2 is also coded this way.

In order to move to frame(2) which contains the playBtn, the pauseBtn is coded with -

on(release) {
      gotoAndPlay(2);
      }

The playBtn is coded:

on(release) {
      gotoAndPlay(1);
      }

When clicked, the MCpausePlay moves from pause to play. That's all I have been able to get this to do.