5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2010 10:05 AM by Rick Gerard

AE Making Cherry Blossom Petals Flying Through Air

stackjones

hello.

where could i get information on how to make a 10 second hd clip in AE. maybe a few variations of this clip.

i have some basic knowledge of AE, but not really an end user.

i need these clips for a music video.

i simply want some cherry blossoms, on black background to fly, float randomly through the air.

is this difficult to do?

anybody want to try and lend a hand?

thanks.

• 1. Re: AE Making Cherry Blossom Petals Flying Through Air
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There isn't a simple one click solution to this problem. You must have at least one, and preferably several images of cherry blossom petals with an alpha channel (transparency) so that only the petal is visible. Then you need to move them around in 3D space.

The fastest way to do this is to use a particle system like Trapcode's Particular and a short sequence of individual images of a cherry blossom petal. The sequence of images is used as a custom particle and the physics are adjusted to achieve the effect you want.

You can also accomplish the same thing manually by taking several individual images of a petal and animating them in 3D space. I hope this points you in the right direction.

• 2. Re: AE Making Cherry Blossom Petals Flying Through Air
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

For the non-Particular solution Rich suggested you could use expressions to get some nice pseudo-random motion. With a bit of fiddling you can also use other particles systems like CC Particle World, CC Bubbles or even Card Dance, but in either case you need a few nicely cut out petal images first...

Mylenium

• 3. Re: AE Making Cherry Blossom Petals Flying Through Air
              Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Here's an After Effects Community Help search for 'cherry blossoms' that returns several useful pages.