3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2010 8:37 AM by arsgs24

Organizing photos

arsgs24 Level 1

I am new to Adobe Photoshop. I have Windows 7 (64 bit) and am using Adobe Premiere Elements 8 and Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.

I have my photos in different file folders by events or groups. I have renamed all the pictures using a numbering order to keep them in a sequence that I want (oldest picture first). This is NOT the date when they were put on the computer or taken with a camera. Some of the pictures were scanned and saved on the computer.

They get all re-arranged when I download them from my file folder to Photoshop. I have also added folders to keep the pictures separated in (same folder system as on my hard drive). I thought I could find a way to sort them by name, but have been unable to do this. Is this possible?

Can anyone tell me how to keep them in the sequence numbering that I have set up? I want them this way in order to burn a DVD for playing on my TV in order to show the pictures to other people (example - vacations). Until I get used to Photoshop, I will need detailed instructions. Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Organizing photos
          rdnelson Level 2

You may be out of luck for an automatic process if the photos from different directories need to be combined together in the same DVD show with the file structure you have selected.  I'm not sure of the exact file structure you are using but here are some suggestions...

As a prerequisite, have all your photos imported into the organizer.