1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 10, 2006 12:58 PM by FasterPastor

controlling multiple sprites

JAH_P
      This maybe simple.. maybe hard, but im frustrated and after reading through every lesson and book that i can find... I just cant get this one to work.
      I want to have a button that animates when pressed - kind of like an arm moving a display screen out. Once out, then id like to have an 'x' button to reanimate it back to the original form (closing display screen). How can i get there???

ps - im not very good with lingo - so id rather not show what i have, just hoping for a restart. Thanks in advance for any help!!
        • 1. controlling multiple sprites
          FasterPastor
          One easy option would be to animate the movement (in and out) on the score, and then set markers in the score to get back and forth (markers are "named" frames, that allow sections of the score to be referred to). Click into the very top track of the score to add new markers. That lets you type a name for a frame to mark the beginning of that "region"). One set of markers could be called "extend screen start" and "extend screen stop" the other set of markers could be called "retract screen start" and "retract screen stop".

The button in the score, showing on the screen, would be a sprite, showing a cast member that looks like a button. A sprite's member can be changed to another member very easily. To wit:

sprite(37).member = member("extend_button_image")

and/or

sprite(37).member = member("retract_button_image")

Now, _where_ to implement that? You would have it in a script that would then need to be "attached" to the sprite that displays the button. (That script would become a behavior, ie. a list giving instructions for how its sprite is to behave).

1. Create a new script.

2. In the script, put a handler called "on mouseUp me"

3. Put the needed behavior steps into the mouseUp "handler"