4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2010 3:34 PM by wideEyedPupil

Email newsletter creation in FW. Not previewing in Mail (mac app).Ipreface

wideEyedPupil Level 1

I'm total newb to Fireworks (but have extensive print design experience) so apologies if this is a silly question. I am required to produce an email newsletter and am using the exercise as a way of introducing myself to FW and DW and web design. My idea of the easiest way to do this (for me) was to produce something I could get into Safari and then use it's (nifty) Mail Contents of this Page… command to create the email in Mail Application.

If I import the content to FireWorks, it previews in Safari AoK but when I use Mail Contents of this Page… I get an email message full of image placemarkers with question marks in them (plugin style icons).

I know this feature (Mail Contents of this Page…) works for a lot of content I've tried it with including Dreamweaver content. I've tried a dozen or so work flows including exporting HTML and images from FW and opening that in Safari.

My workflow was InDesign --> export as flattened PDF (with layers) --> open in Photoshop and cut into individual images and Save for Web… --> import images from PS or  whole flattened PDF direct to FW --> make slices over images (almost all the text is in spec fonts so is rendered out as images)

Any ideas for a sure-Fire(works) workflow to produce a glossy (X)HTML newsletter?

Any idea why the export from FW looks good in Safari but fails as a Mac Mail HTML message?

For now I'm emailing a link to the online PDF to ship on time but I very much wish to master HTML emails and an efficient workflow.

Cheers and thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Email newsletter creation in FW. Not previewing in Mail (mac app).Ipreface
          pixlor Level 4

Fireworks is not an HTML authoring environment. Let me repeat that. Fireworks is not an HTML authoring environment!