5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2010 12:48 AM by Canada_L

Is Win 7 64-bit causing this?

Canada_L

I have a new system based on Windows 7 64-bit.  It has 4GB RAM, fast Intel CPU, Intel SSD drive along with large regular hard disk, Nvidia video card.

The other day I downloaded the trial version of Premiere Elements 8 to see if I could use the Stabilizer effect to fix our HD camcorder videos of our kids.

Photoshop Elements 8 seems to be working fine (other than the Smart Tags appear even though I thought I shut off Auto Analyzer).

After trying about 5 times no success.  Each time I open the video file and try to apply the Stabilizer Effect the rendering progress bar at the bottom right of the screen freezes up between 1% and 50%.   I tried the various fixes mentioned on this forum like replacing the 6 DLL files in PrE8.   Also did the thread optimization changes to the Nvidia driver.

Not sure if I'm doing this right.  I am a total newbie when it comes to PrE8.

I Open a new project, give it a name, open the media file (about 3 minute long HD camcorder clip), drag it to the timeline.  It starts to render the file at that point but I go ahead and drag the Stabilizer effect thumbnail onto the video clip on the timeline, the rendering progress bar falls back to zero then starts progressing again.  Every single time it locks up eventually before finishing.

I even tried using various XP compatibility modes on my Windows 7 but that's total disaster.  The rendering progress bar doesn't seem to move at all.

Is this a Windows 7 64bit incompatibility issue or is it something else?

I was going to purchase Premiere Elements 8 but won't unless I can make some progress here.  The way it is now, it's totally useless to me.

• 1. Re: Is Win 7 64-bit causing this?
          Canada_L Level 1

I should add that when I double click on the original video file in Premiere Elements 8 the video does pull up and plays correctly