1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 12, 2008 6:33 PM by

Air running in a browser

Does anyone know if there are plans to allow Air apps to run within a browser?

I'm new to Flex and Air (so i may be missing something), and i think the concept of being able to run flex/web apps in a desktop context is very nice, as well as the desktop API (file io, sqllite, etc...); but why are AIR apps not able to run directly in a browser? Why force a desktop deployment?

What would AIR in a browser mean? For me it means i can create a flex webapp (running in a browser), that has access to all the extended AIR API, like file io, sql database, offline support, etc. The *exact* same app could be run in either a browser, or desktop (or any other Open Screen in the future). A AIR/FLEX app that runs in a browser might require that the app be signed (for trusted access), or maybe the app could optionally run within a restricted sandbox and not require any signing (similar to Java applets). Having both options would be great.

But the key is having a single code-base to develop, and giving users the option of running in either the browser or desktop or both. For many types of apps and users i think it would be a significant barrier to *require* installation and running as a desktop app.

What would be really cool is doing something similar to what is being developed for Java Applets. The latest Beta applets allow you to drag, or "tear", the applet off the web page on to the user's desktop. If a user does that, they are prompted to install the applet as a desktop application (webstart app). Why not do something similar for AIR?

https://jdk6.dev.java.net/plugin2/#EXPERIMENTAL_FUNCTIONALITY