4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2010 2:42 AM by Wout Lemmens

Subclip support combined with cue points

Wout Lemmens

Hi,

I'm quite new to OSMF, but experimenting a bit. In my search I read the following post: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/483523 about combining fragments of videos into one. The answer back then was 'subclip support', which is in the framework now.

What I would like is the following:

Combine various fragments (subclips) of videos into one, and being able to jump from one fragment to the next by using cue points.

Issues I encounter:

- I cannot use locally stored videos. It kinda works with some sample .f4v files used in sample code (e.g. rtmp://cp67126.edgefcs.net/ondemand/mp4:mediapm/osmf/content/test/cuepoints/spacealonehd_ sounas_640.f4v). Do subclips and cue points only work on .f4v files that are hosted on a Flash Media Server? Or can I use local files as well? And other formats than .f4v?

- In the cue point example, when I add another subclip to the SerialElement, the total duration is updated at the time the fragment is going to be displayed. This prevents being able to jump to the next video fragment. I expected that the individual durations of MediaElements in a SerialElement would be available in the total duration of the SerialElement.

Maybe someone has some hints or links to get this to work. Or maybe even a complete different approach.

Thnx.

Wout

• 1. Re: Subclip support combined with cue points
          Vijay Ghaskadvi Level 1

Hi Wout,

Subclip support does not work with progressive videos, only with streaming videos. The main reason is that NetStream exposes additional parameters for specifying startTime and duration for streaming videosnot for progressive videos. Also, for progressive videos, you'd have to download all the bits until your startTime in order to start playback, and that would be a bad user experience.