9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2010 1:07 PM by Wade_Zimmerman

Is it possible to vary the thickness of a stroke like in Anime Studio Pro?

Jack1337

I'm new to Illustrator and vector drawing in general, but I've used Anime Studio Pro years ago when it was still Moho, one feature I really liked about it was how you could vary your stroke's thickness from point to point or even hide certain parts of a stroke, that feature was perfect for cartoony drawings and stuff.

Now I went over the lynda.com basics videos which gave me a fairly good idea of how Illustrator works, but this particular feature wasn't covered and I haven't been able to find it on my own.

Is this even possible to do in Illustrator?

• 1. Re: Is it possible to vary the thickness of a stroke like in Anime Studio Pro?
          Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

With a stylist pen and pressure sensitivitysettings applied to a brush.

Screen shot 2010-01-09 at 12.07.45 AM.png

Screen shot 2010-01-09 at 12.17.58 AM.png

• 2. Re: Is it possible to vary the thickness of a stroke like in Anime Studio Pro?
            Jack1337 Level 1

How would I go about editing this stuff after I'm done with the lines?

For example I trace something I've drawn with my tablet in say Photoshop or whatever and after I'm done tracing it I want to clean up some of the lines, hide outlines that aren't needed, thicken or reduce others and so on.

• 3. Re: Is it possible to vary the thickness of a stroke like in Anime Studio Pro?
              Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

That is not the question you asked!

Why don't you state the question completely and we will be able to respond.

If you have a feature request to make why not make it on the feature request forum?

Perhaps that would be a better place to post this query.

• 4. Re: Is it possible to vary the thickness of a stroke like in Anime Studio Pro?
                JETalmage Level 6

Jack,