18 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2010 6:53 AM by Markstar.Adbe

"Anchor" for objects?

Markstar.Adbe

Hi,

is there a way to have (the postion of) objects be dependant of another one? To illustrate my question, I have attached a simple .fla file with two boxes (MovieClips) that grow in height. Since the position of the bottom box is constant, the top box soon expands "into" the one below so that parts of it are hidden. What I want is that the gap between those two objects stays constant (in this case 50px).

So, is there any way to make the position of one object dependant on (the size of) another? Or is there any other "workaround"/tip you can give me? Please keep in mind that I am very new to Flash/AS3!

Thank you in advance!

• 1. Re: "Anchor" for objects?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

yes, but you'll need to code for that.

for example, in the same loop that repeatedly changes the size of your box, change its position.

• 2. Re: "Anchor" for objects?
            Markstar.Adbe Level 1

Sorry, I'm not sure what you mean.

So far, I don't have a loop. As you can (maybe) see from my example, I created everything with Flash so far (no AS3 yet).

I have no idea how change the position via code dependent on the size of another object (especially since these will be nested objects).

Could you please elaborate or maybe even give me an example?

Thanks you for your time!

• 3. Re: "Anchor" for objects?

if you're using the timeline to tween the size of one of your boxes, use the timeline to tween its position.

• 4. Re: "Anchor" for objects?
                Markstar.Adbe Level 1

But this only works in some scenarios and is not a solution for my problem because it would require me to manually adjust the position for each scenario.

Consider my (unfinished) side menu for my website: http://markstar.x10hosting.com/test/sidemenu03.html