11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2008 1:28 PM by Michael Borbor

Flex certification

glen08 Level 1
      Has anyone done this certification? Its value on the market and its difficulty?
        • 1. Re: Flex certification
          Bryan Dresselhaus Level 1
          Also does anyone know when the certification will be out for Flex 3? I've only seen Flex 2.
          • 2. Flex certification
            Gregory Lafrance Level 6
            Flex 2 certification will continue to be offered until late autumn (or later) this year, then Flex 3 exam will come out.

I studied pretty hard for the Flex 2 ACE exam and passed with a score of 77 (73 to pass) on April 24, 2008.

It was tougher than I thought it would be, but that was primarily because I used a software product called Attest to prepare, and the practice exams in this software, while extremely useful, and no doubt contributed greatly to my success, were not as tough as the actual exam.

Go through the entire FB2 help system (except for the programming AS and Flex 2 reference sections) once, reading all sections, and compiling each sample app.

Then go through the FB2 help system again, and make 4x6 flash cards with the stuff you feel is not fairly well embedded in your brain. I created 400 cards, several questions on most cards, for a total of 1500 questions. I did not restudy them all, but went through them and pulled out the ones I thought would be most valuable based on the Attest practice exams. Then I studied those pretty hard.

STUDY FLEX DATA SERVICES !!! When I actually took the exam, it started with a bunch of FDS questions, and I'm lucky I sudied it enough to answer a few and deduce a few more.

I feel that going through the whole FB help system, and preparing for and passing the exam, is a great way to get a wide body of knowledge about Flex. Can't hurt in the market as well.
            • 3. Re: Flex certification
              glen08 Level 1
              Thanks Greg.