12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2010 2:27 AM by jake_flex

Help with Flex Ant build.xml error

cardician23

So I've started on a new project and I'm new to Flex. A lot of learning curve here. Anyway, I'm trying to deploy a project that uses flex and is built with Ant. We've moving up from a version of Flex 2 to Flex 3. The build file works fine in the Flex 2 app but for some reason does not seem to be working with Flex 3. I'm hoping someone can give me some insight on what might be wrong or where to start.

The error is Command not found: compc

The part of the build file it has a problem with is:

<compc include-classes="${classes}"

ouput="${flex.dist.dir}/${flex.app.name}.swc"

keep-generated-actionscript="false"

headless-server="${headless.server}"

incremental="true">

<load_config filename="${FLEX_HOME}/frameworks/flex-config.xml" />

<source-path path-element="${FLEX_HOME}/frameworks" />

<source-path path-element="${flex.app.root}" />

<compiler.library-path dir="${FLEX_HOME}/frameworks" append="true">

<include name="libs" />

<include name="../bundles/{local}" />

</compiler.library-path>

<compiler.library-path dir="${flex.app.root}" appent="true">

<include name="libs" />

</compiler.library-path>

</compc>

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

• 1. Re: Help with Flex Ant build.xml error
          jake_flex Level 2

Have you copied the Flex Ant tasks jar to your Ant installation directory?

Quote from the Flex Ant documentation

Copy the flex_ant/lib/flexTasks.jar file to Ant's lib directory ({ant_root}/lib).
          If you do not copy this file to the lib directory, you must specify it
          by using Ant's -lib
           option on the command line when you make a project. 

Have you taken the tasks into use in your build script?

Quote from the Flex Ant documentation

Use the Flex tasks in Ant:

1. Add a new taskdef
           task to your
          project. In this task, specify the flexTasks.tasks file as the