4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2010 3:18 PM by Breeeee

First attempt - questions

Breeeee

This is my first attempt using Flash Catalyst (Beta 2), importing all layers and images from Photoshop CS3 http://www.lorynpowell.com. Flash Catalyst is a great product, and I can't wait to see more! I had to start from scratch a few times, as I was having pixel problems when I tried to rotate and align images or move placements, and I didn't flatten the layers on import which created a separate layer for drop shadows. I also imported 4 .flv files which makes this catalyst file quite hefty.

Currently I'm running through all of my pages/states to try and eliminate unnecessary code, by making sure assets only appear in the page/state they belong in. Some text has been optimized, while others have not.

Questions:

1. I haven't been able to find out how to revert an optimized image back to text in order to make changes, or if it's even possible. I'm thinking it's "break apart the graphic", but that means something totally different in Flash.
      2. How can I bring in a widget from Twitter, which is javascript? I read that it is possible using an IFrame and Flex Builder. Can anyone point me to the specific document or thread?
      3. Is it possible to link to a particular page/state from outside of the .swf? This site also will contain a blog. I want to be able to link to individual pages from the blog built in WordPress, but I don't know if it's possible.
      4. To minimize the size of the file, I'm thinking of replacing the .flv files with the optimized .swf files, and then creating my own custom controls, for play, pause, stop, volume, etc. Does anyone know if this is possible to do? Is there a way to minimize the size of the .flv files?

This is a very simple website, mostly text, a few animations, and transitions from page to page. It was a snap importing into Flash Catalyst and setting up pages and transitions once I figured out how everything worked.

Thanks!