4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2010 6:57 AM by TCarp

What file formats should I use for maps?

TCarp Level 1

I've come to the IL forum simply because of the number of file formats IL will process.  My question however is more generic to file formats.

I work with a large local county government (just as a citizen) and one of the projects we're working on is to get a full suite of maps (and other GIS output) for distribution.  Although they will be made available online, the intent is to print/plot.

For some maps, we'll want to have the capability to add vector graphics (ovals, rectangles, text, arrows) for highlighting.

The intent is for the county to provide machine readable GIS output so that we can do our own printing (via Kinkos for example).  We'll also be putting the maps online although only for simple viewing and downloads.

What file format(s) should I ask to have the map sets in?

Because I'm a novice when it comes to understand which format to ask for I've done some homework on jpg, tiff, gif, etc.  I think IL will take in any of them and that's where any vector graphics would be added (for print destined output).  I also have FW which could be used for web destined output if needed.

What is most important is the quality of the printed output so I'm assuming dpi is going to be important.  I'm also assuming that we'll ask for the output to be intended for a rather large plot (e.g. 36" x 48" or perhaps even larger) even though we may not actually produce a map of that size.  For what I've learned on this and other Adobe forums, no matter what file size and format we get, printing to larger paper will eventually lose visible resolution thus the intent to start with the largest we'd ever print.  We might have circumstances where we would crop but again understand what can happen when blowing those up.