4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2010 11:56 AM by Jeremy bowmangraphics-DQuh1B

Making a book out of a document for epub export

Jeremy bowmangraphics-DQuh1B Level 3

My fellow scripters,

I'm about to write a script that will turn a single story in a single document into an indb book with separate chapters "snipped" wherever a paragraph style "Chapter Title" occurs. The idea is to automate to some degree the process of making epub files.

I'm relatively new to scripting, so this will take quite a lot of my time -- although it will be a valuable learning experience.

However, if there happens to be such a script already available -- for free, mind -- written by one of the many brilliant scripters on this forum, I'll leave the valuable learning experience for another day, with immense gratitude.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Making a book out of a document for epub export
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

I don't think anything like this has been done before. Congrats for finding a new workflow! But it seems you're going to have to invent everything by yourself.

Fortunately, your concept can be broken down into simple steps, each one standing on its own. From top of head, something like:

1. Dividing a story up into several discrete parts, each one starting with a chapter title.

2. Creating a new document with all the correct settings.

3. Copying text into this new document, adding pages where needed.

4. Gathering the new documents into a Book.

5. Exporting result of (4) to an Ebook.

For (1) there are a few different options. Perhaps a simple findText, looking for just the chapter style, is all you need. You can use the storyOffsets of the chapter styles to divide the story up in chunks.