4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2010 5:30 AM by SargeT13

Raw, Adobe DNG codec, LR Beta 3, frustration...

jackfrombc Level 1

As an advanced amateur photographer, I decided that my New Year's resolution would be to stop shooting JPEG plus supplementary Raw on my Nikon DSLR, and to use only Raw. Also decided to try LightRoom Beta 3 (not a LR user previously; I use Windows Live Photo Gallery). Finally, also decided to use DNG instead of NEF to facilitate cross-application compatibility (ie, I like the idea of a non-proprietary datafile format) and to avoid creating sidecar (XMP) files for keywords. I use Windows 7 Pro and Home Premium on an Acer Netbook and Dell Inspiron notebook computer, although I've only created the DNG files on the netbook so far.

It's been a sinkhole of time to get working.

Once I had created some DNG files from the NEF files using LR3, the computer performance deteriorated completely. Eventually found that CPU was pegged at 100% utilization, and that SearchFilterHost.EXE was the culprit. MUCH sleuthing revealed that going into Windows Control Panel > Indexing Options > Advanced, and unchecking the DNG file type allowed the indexing to proceed to completion. When the DNG files WERE allowed for indexing, then the Indexing Options dialog box showed that the indexing stalled at some point; if the DNG files were DISALLOWED, the the indexing completed normally.

Secondly, when I opened Windows Live Photo Gallery, it showed that it was creating thumbnails (presumably the DNG files), but that it was proceeding at about 1 file per 30 seconds. The CPU was pegged at 50% during this time. Eventually all the thumbnails were completed, and CPU utilization dropped to a few percent.

In both cases, Windows Resource Monitor revealed that Adobe's DNGCodec was associated with the stalled/slow process.