6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2008 5:39 AM by Newsgroup_User

Protection of dcr files; shockwave

1serg1
      I am still fairly new to Director. Currently using Mx2004. I am concerned about how to protect a movie, such as an interactive lesson or game, from being copied. Can someone, say in China, download the contents and copy? I've found this article: http://www.robotduck.com/content/articles/director/net/dcrProtection/

but don't know if it's dated. I recall seeing a posting which said Director was safe but Flash was not. Any truth to that? thanks in advance for your expert advice!
        • 1. Re: Protection of dcr files; shockwave
          Level 7
          First of all, nothing is safe. Ever. There are varying degrees of
          safeness, but bear in mind that a talented hacker who wants to copy your
          stuff can. Evidence for this is simple. Look at Windows. MS spends
          millions on securing their OS and applications, but somehow there is a
          crack on or before release day. Every major video game publisher tries
          to prevent piracy, but their stuff always ends up on Pirate Bay. Anyone
          who tells you they can protect your stuff 100% is lying or selling
          something... or both.

That said, there are things you can do to make it so at least the casual
          pirate will have too hard a time to bother. And Director is excellent
          for that purpose. It is not hard to make something in Director that is
          very very difficult to copy. Since you can publish your projector as an
          encrypted dxr file, it is quite difficult right there for anyone to get
          anything out of it. Flash uses a public and open swf format that is very
          easy to decompile. Added to that, there are built in techniques to
          prevent debugging during runtime. You can easily set up an external
          authentication system with a server running PHP and MySQL (or whatever