2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2010 5:40 AM by Steve Grisetti

Workflow, prepping for Premiere Elements and moving into/out of!

JayZ_WA

Now that I have a rockin' system built and ready to edit, I am studying my Premiere Elements forums, books, and other resources (including these forums, Muvipix & my Muvipix book!).

I have a few questions as I dive into this area but many of them are pre-Premiere, the steps in the workflow before I get to my editing but they are relevant as they move into Premiere.

While I’m experienced in Lightroom and photography, I am looking to combining the elements of still images and video further.  If there are better resources to reference for these types of questions, please let me know.  It seems that it’s hard to find this level of info online (less than pro level video editing & equipment) - perhaps I just need the right resource!  Some of these are just determining the best practices and workflow that is recommended for my video library and video editing/presenting process.

For starters ... In camera (using Canon Vixia HF-S100) - typically, what is the best frame rate 30fps? Is this better to use than 60i?  I have been shooting most at 30fps and at high quality (FXP - 17Mbps, highest is 24).

To computer - Should I use Canon/Pixela (bundled) software to transfer to computer?  Is this necessary?  Can you simple copy AVCHD/MTS files to computer from folder on memory card?  Is this different from JPGs where it can be a simple copy/pasted to hard drive?

Conversion – Is the MTS file essentially like having a RAW/CR2 (Canon) file on my DSLR?  If I ultimately covert this, is it best to retain the ‘raw’ MTS file?  It seems from the book (Muvipix Guide to Pre 8.0), it is best to always work with DV-AVI files – should I automatically convert all files to DV-AVI for use in Pre8.0?

Is this best:

- AVCHD/MTS files from camcorder to DV-AVI

- MOV file from Canon 7D to DV-AVI

- AVI files from small pocket Canon PowerShot camera to DV-AVI