5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2010 9:59 AM by Saxplayer0815

How to import AVCHD from Sony cx105 camera

Jamesusillxd

I am using Adobe Premier Pro CS4 and would like to know

how to set it up to import and edit video from my sony cx105 camera.
      I am new to Premiere. What are the settings/ presets etc. that i need to do so?
      When i have imported it from an AVCHD 1080p25 setting when i try to play the
      video it appers to be playing but is incredibly laggy and just stops.
      I assume this to be more down to lack of knowledge then a problem with anything,
      As both the camera, software and laptop are new.

Laptop: Dell Inspiron running with Windows Vista Home Basic.

• 1. Re: How to import AVCHD from Sony cx105 camera
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          I assume this to be more down to lack of knowledge then a problem with anything,
          As both the camera, software and laptop are new.

You are wrong!. It does not matter that your notebook is new, it is underpowered for AVCHD editing. Run the http://ppbm4.com benchmark, report the results to Bill and post them here as well (or PM them to me) and you will likely see that your notbook is just not up to the requirements of AVCHD editing.

Report your benchmark results and we can easily discern whether your system is up to the task or not.

• 2. Re: How to import AVCHD from Sony cx105 camera
            cfinlayson

Hi James,

Can you tell us some more about your computer's hardware?

What is you processor,

How much RAM,

HDD size,

What type of graphics adapter and how much memory is allocated, and whether that memory is shared or dedicated?

Are you running any other Adobe programs, like Photoshop, After Effects, or Audition at the same time?

I know that the System Requirements do not list Windows Vista Home Basic, but that's not to say you can't get it to run, and run fine, but the combination of factors could choke your system, especially if you are scrubbing HD video.