10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2010 1:26 PM by smoothygroove

What is the language used in Flash Builder?

smoothygroove

Hi everyone - total noob here.

I'm really interested in learning how to code ( I'm a designer, and want to add coding to my skill set).

What would be the best way to get up to speed? What language should i learn?

Flash Builder & Cataylst look amazing.

cheers

• 1. Re: What is the language used in Flash Builder?
          markerline Level 4

I'm a noob too smoothy.  A lot of design work can be coded in ActionScript 2.0 or 3.0 which are very different from each other but both compatible with Flash CS4 Professional--you don't necessarily need Flex or Flash Builder.  Catalyst is a "lazy" way of doing ActionScript but from what I saw in the Flash footage on Catalyst the code that the program generates is a little different from ActionScript code, though I'm not entirely sure on the subject.  Hopefully a knowledgable Flex'er will chime in right about now.

-markerlin

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: What is the language used in Flash Builder?
            David_F57 Level 5

Hi,

The simple explanation is that Flex is split into 2 coding formats mxml for design/layout and actionscript for functionality, there is also fxg which is a graphics scripting language. fxg and mxml is what Catalyst passes to flex.

Actionscript is Adobe's programming language which is used by flex and flash.

If you are a flash designer you will be familiar with the 'timeline' and frame based code snippets used to create swfs. Flex allows you to create swf's in a true development environment, no timeline and managable code. Anything you do in flash can be done in flex the difference being that the flex sdk provides components and functionality that you just don't get in flash.

Catalyst allows you to  take graphics and convert them into a coded design for flex,  Basically its the bridge between designer and developer.