9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2016 7:18 AM by michaelr17246981

Challenge – Hanging Bracket in Table Cell Script?

dasilvaj

I don't know anything about scripting but....

Can a script be written to handle hanging brackets in financial tables: where financial numbers are right aligned and any negative number brackets extend out to the right. Optical Margin Adjustment doesn't work. Have handled it with a cell style with a smaller inset but there must be a better way...

• 2. Re: Challenge – Hanging Bracket in Table Cell Script?
          dasilvaj Level 1

Hi Rob

I've been doing financial tables that way for many years but am now having to utlize the Table + Cell Features of InDesign and I haven'tt found an efficient way of handling the hanging brackets.

Maybe I'm missing something?

• 3. Re: Challenge – Hanging Bracket in Table Cell Script?
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

It's a tab setting inside the table's cells. Select the entire column and call up the Tab bar. Then add an Align to Decimal tab:

hangbracket.PNG

• 4. Re: Challenge – Hanging Bracket in Table Cell Script?
              dasilvaj Level 1

Had forgotten you could put tabs in a table cell. I'd use an align to bracket. There are also $ signs at top/bottom of tables. A tab would do that but it's not as flexible if column widths vary....

I use insets, right indent tabs and a column to the right but am wondering if there is a better approach?

I format large numbers of tables so hope to use a quick, flexible method (different column widths). How you would approach it if you had 100+ tables to do, regularly, under tight deadlines? I've attached a sample.

• 5. Re: Challenge – Hanging Bracket in Table Cell Script?

Well, I would write a script. Or ask for one ... oh, you did ask