1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 27, 2010 3:50 PM by Ansury

is AIR for me ?

mandriluy

Im new to AIR.. im reading the AIR with ajax book i bought and i have a question for you people.

I need this functionality and want to know if AIR is capable of ... and i also have some questions.

What i need to do :

• Desktop application with a login that uses a remote hosted DB on internet server to check the username and password.. when login how do i manage the session ? is this possible ?
      • CRUD using a remote DB , could be SQLite or MySQL or whatever
      • I will use JavaScript, Ajax, how do i access the remote DB to insert, update, delete data ? using action script ?
      • Is AIR api for action script ? or im using javascript with the api ? can i use Python with AIR api ? ..i guess no

I hope AIR meet my requirements ;-) .. whats your opinion ?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: is AIR for me ?
          Ansury Level 3

Why use Ajax and JavaScript hacks for a desktop application?  Is this choice being forced on you?  If not, I'd strongly suggest ditching that entire concept and simply using Flex with AIR.  You'll end up with a much nicer end product and you won't need to worry about AIR changes breaking JavaScript rubbish some day down the road.

• Session management: will vary depending on your back-end implementation. A google for "Flex security" should turn up resources answering your questions on sessions.
          • CRUD: (god I hate that term) in Flex with Blaze Data Services or Granite Data Services is pathetically simple, and much easier than with "DHTML/JavaScript hacks".